Planning to Attend an Out of State College?

Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP)

What is the MSEP?

MHEC helps improve access to postsecondary education through the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP). Since 1994, the MSEP has provided more affordable opportunities for students to attend out-of-state institutions. The MSEP serves as the Midwest’s largest multi-state tuition reciprocity program. MSEP is not a scholarship.

Over 140 colleges and universities in Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and Wisconsin have opened their doors to each others’ citizens at more affordable rates. Although the Midwestern Higher Education Compact is composed of twelve Midwestern states, the MSEP is a voluntary program (as are all MHEC programs) and only nine of the twelve states participate. Iowa, South Dakota, and Ohio do not participate in MSEP at this time. Click here for more information.